Click for JIH home page

Cross-Country
Junior Ilkley Harriers, established 2003

Click for Clubmark info
xc

We all remember Cross-Country from our school days - it's brilliant fun splashing about in all that water and mud and being allowed to get away with it. We actively encourage this sort of behaviour!

Local Primary School races are suitable for all children from Year 1 to 6, We set up and coordinate the Wharfedale Primary Schools XC League competition for years 3 to 6 based on the results from locally organised School events.

Peco XC League races are suitable for all abilities and newcomers to competitive racing. Peco League details, results and league tables can be found here. There is a 2 mile race for Years 7 to 12 and a 1 mile race for Years 2 to 6. Rcaes usually start 10am and 10.20am.
Junior races are chip timed (chip timing bib tags, similar to those used for the Seniors, will be issued at a cost of 2 each). Race entry fees will remain at 1 per race. Juniors will, where possible, be pre-registered by clubs although registration on the day will still be permitted. Juniors in School Years 2 & 3 will be permitted to run in the 1 mile races (provided that their parent / guardian is confident that they have sufficient experience of 'competitive' running). There will be 2 age categories in the 1 mile races: School Year 2 - 4 and School Year 5 - 6. Juniors do not need to be members of League clubs, but should be 'associated' with a UKA-affiliated club (e.g. if a parent is a club member, then the Junior shall be deemed to be 'associated' with that club). Club colours should be worn, but not necessarily a club vest.

West Yorkshire League races are more suitable for the better runner and children over the age of 9 years.

We also have individuals and teams at the Yorkshire, Northern and National Cross-Country Championships.

 

X-C Programme

  • West Yorkshire X-C League
  • Sunday 3rd October 2021 - Cleckheaton
  • Saturday 30th October 2021 - Nunroyd Park
  • Sunday 21st November 2021 - Thornes Park, Wakefield
  • Sunday 12th December 2021 - Harrogate Show ground
  • Peco X-C League (check web site for venues)
  • Sunday 14th November
  • Sunday 5th December
  • Sunday 19th December
  • Sunday 23rd January 2022
  • Sunday 20th February
  • Championship events
  • Yorkshire Championships?
  • Saturday 29th January 2022, Northern Championships, Pontefract
  • Saturday 26th February 2022, National Championships, Hampstead Heath, London
  • Wharfedale Primary Schools League
  • Saturday 25th September 2021 - Ashlands
  • Saturday 2nd October 2021 - Burley & Woodhead (Ilkley Rugby Club)
  • Saturday 13th November 2021 - Ghyll Royd
  • Saturday 29th January 2022 - Ben Rhydding
  • Saturday 5th March 2022 - All Saints (Ilkley Swimming pool)
  • Saturday 19th March 2022 - KS2 Relays at Nell Bank